Cindy Crawford on Religion? Why the hell not…

I love it when academic journals shock and surprise you in good ways. This was one of those ways:

More recently, supermodel Cindy Crawford has given an even more succinct statement of religious privatism: “I’m religious but in my own personal way. I always say that I have a Cindy Crawford religion – it’s my own” (Redbook, September 1992).’

Yamane, David. 1997. Secularization on Trial: In Defense of a Neosecularization Paradigm. Journal for the Scientific Study of Religion 36, no. 1 (March): 109-122, p. 116.

Way to sum up secularisation in one sentence Cindy! Nice one!

Tags: , ,

About Chris

Scholar of religion/nonreligion... PhD Student (Lancaster University), blogger, singer, actor, thinker... Northern Irish living in Scotland. Co-founder of The Religious Studies Project. Managing Editor at the NSRN. Baritone masquerading as a tenor. Vegetarian for no particular reason.

One response to “Cindy Crawford on Religion? Why the hell not…”

  1. Carole Cusack says :

    I love David Yamane (his “Narrative and Religious Experience” Sociology of Religion, Vol. 61, No. 2, (Summer, 2000), pp. 171-189 has been quite important to my research). Cindy Crawford, of course, is re-ploughing a significant furrow. Her characterisation of her personal religiosity echoes Sheila Larson in Robert Bellah’s magisterial Habits of the Heart (1985, I think). In it he writes: “Sheila Larson is a young nurse who has received a good deal of therapy and describes her faith as ‘Sheilaism.’ This suggests the logical possibility of more than 235 million American religions, one for each of us. ‘I believe in God,’ Sheila says. ‘I am not a religious fanatic. [Notice at once that in our culture any strong statement of belief seems to imply fanaticism so you have to offset that.] I can’t remember the last time I went to church. My faith has carried me a long way. It’s Sheilaism. Just my own little voice.’ Sheila’s faith has some tenets beyond belief in God, though not many. In defining what she calls ‘my own Sheilaism,’ she said: ‘It’s just try to love yourself and be gentle with yourself. You know, I guess, take care of each other. I think God would want us to take care of each other.’ Like many others, Sheila would be willing to endorse few more specific points.” I love Bellah, he has more to say with every reading, and Habits of the Heart is him at his best.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 674 other followers

